Home » Event » Myanmar Solar Tender Update: Bid Clarifications and Tax Structure

Myanmar Solar Tender Update: Bid Clarifications and Tax Structure

With a little more than 2 weeks to go, we are entering the final stretch for the bid submission on 17 July 2020 for Myanmar’s 1Gig solar tender. Bidders are now collating the right documents, choosing the right entity, and finalising the financial models.  

As VDB Loi has been following this tender closely since the start with two previous webinars, we will now focus on whats new in EPGE’s Clarifications nr. 4 and nr. 5, and we will go into more detail on the tax implications of solar projects in Myanmar. 

Highlights

  • Which land documents are accepted by EPGE? Which documents are not sufficient? 
  • Can we use an SPV after we win the award? 
  • The latest EPGE guidance on battery energy storage system (BESS)
  • Which parts of the PPA are still up for negotiation?  
  • Taxation: which taxes apply to the solar project? 
  • Taxation of the EPC: which taxes apply to the payments the project company makes to the EPC provider? 

Program

TimePrograms
1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m.Presentation
1:45 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.Q&A

Our Energy and Infrastructure team is working on approximately 80% of the Power deals in Myanmar. The energy and infrastructure team in our firm has one goal: using the unique local knowledge and relationships we have spent years building up, to give your deal the edge. We are the ultimate in ground connectivity. International financial institutions are confident in our advice, choosing us for several of their largest-ever financing transactions in our markets. Governments trust us to act for them on their privatizations and private sector partnerships. Our ability to navigate government administrations is exceptional, saving precious time on approval processes and improving the transparency of infrastructure projects.

Speakers

Edwin Vanderbruggen
Senior Partner
VDB Loi

Edwin is the senior partner of VDB Loi and a leading foreign legal advisor living in Myanmar since 2012. A frequent advisor to the Government on transactions and privatizations in energy, transportation and telecom, he is widely recognized for his “vast knowledge” (Legal 500) and his ability “to get difficult things through the bureaucracy ” (Chambers, 2016). He advises international financial institutions on their largest Myanmar transactions, oil and gas supermajors, a greenfield multi- billion US$ telecom project and the Japanese Government on the Thilawa SEZ. He assisted two newly licensed foreign banks setup in Myanmar, acted for the sponsor of an 800MUS$ urban infrastructure PPP project and worked on 6 out of 7 power deals inked in 2016.

Charles Magdelaine
Counsel
VDB Loi

Charles is a lawyer qualified to practice in Paris and educated in France, the United States and China. He has extensive experience in Southeast Asia where he has worked on a wide range of energy and infrastructure projects, as well as on regulatory reforms, notably on PPP projects. He is currently advising a wide range of sponsors on renewable and non-renewable power projects.

Ngwe Lin Myat Chit
Director
VDB Loi

Ngwe Lin has a master's degree in finance from Umea University in Sweden and a bachelor's degree in commerce from the University of Newcastle in Australia. She has extensive experience advising multinational clients in a wide range of industries in terms of tax structuring, cross-border tax issues, tax disputes, and tax compliance matters. She has also advised an impressive list of oil and gas supermajors and IPPs on the tax structuring of their energy projects in Myanmar and has assisted on various tax dispute cases in the oil and gas sectors.

Register for the Event

EVENT DETAILS

DATE:
July 2, 2020
TIME:
Yangon: 1.00pm | Bangkok: 1.30pm | Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaysia: 2.30pm | Seoul, Tokyo: 3.30pm | London:7.30am | Amsterdam, Paris: 8.30am |
VENUE:
Live Webinar Event